This is My Bible

This is my Bible.

This is my Bible

It has obviously seen a lot of wear and tear.

I got it in 2001 from my youth minster.

I had finished reading all of it within a year.

"Presented To" Page

See in the upper right-hand corner?  That’s my misspelled name being corrected with an “x” through the superfluous “h”.

Psalm 37: 5-6 reads:

Commit your ways to the Lord;

trust in him and he will do this:

He will make your righteousness shine like the dawn,

the justice of your cause like the noonday sun.

This is what it looks like inside.Highlighting, Pen, and Pencil Markings

A good deal of it is marked up like this.  Competing highlighter colors.  Passages blocked off with pencil.  Underlining, exclamation points, and arrows in pen.  Copious notes and prayers written in every available space.

Almost the entire book of Phillipians is highlighted.  The same goes for James and 1 John.

I paraphrased most of the psalms

For me the Word was God.

The Word was Light and it was Life.

My Bible, and every dear word in it, informed how I understood God.  It was the basis on which I built my relationship with God.

How great is the love?

My Bible was almost totemic.

When the doubts started seeping through the cracks in my faith, I took my troubles to my Bible.

Is God a good creator?“Is God a good creator?”

became

“Is God good?”

became

“Is God, at all?”

Satan prowls like a roaring lion, seeking whom he will devour.

Without faith, being devoured by the lion as it were, my Bible has become a weird brick of a book.

I value it dearly, still, but I value it as I do my childhood security blanket; loving it without needing it, loving it as an act of respect to my past.

Well-aquainted.

It’s weird to look back and see how many layers of importance I used to see in a text that is flat to me now.

This entry was posted in Christianity's Confusion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This is My Bible

  1. janineyork says:

    What a wonderful way to describe a journey that so many of us are afraid to take. Thank you for putting into words my sentiments on the subject.

  2. It is a scary journey, isn’t it? It’s nice to have a friend on the road. Thank you for the encouragement.

  3. Miss Keene says:

    Bold post. I like how your photos illustrate the journey. For me the Bible and other books easily become idols and I’ve had to let that go in favor of living the life. Blessings to you on the path. As others say, “The Tao that can be named is not the Tao.”

Now it's your turn...

