This is Not a Food Blog

I do however, really like cooking and baking.  I also find a lot of inspiration and pleasure reading food blogs.  Smitten Kitchen is my current obsession.  Smitten’s author, Deb Perelman, is a fantastic food photographer in addition to her witty writing and truly delicious recipes.  She’s inspired me to try my hand at some food photography as well.

For the life of me, I’ve never understood why people have an aversion to brussels sprouts.  For one thing, they’re patently adorable in their doll-sized cabbage form.  For another, they’re delicious.

Brussels sprouts with garlic and poppy seeds

I understand if people don’t recognize the next vegetable as that, a vegetable.  Romanesco is a hybrid of broccoli and cauliflower that manages to resemble neither but taste like both.  RomanescoFritters are my newest favoritest thing.  In the past two months I’ve made fritters of leeks, sweet potatoes, broccoli, quinoa, and yukon golds.  These beauties are a blend of veggies with Thai seasonings.  Thai fritters.Sometimes I find a good picture involves nothing but an ingredient, a foodstuff in it’s least adulterated form.  Much of the food we eat is attractive just as it is.

IMG_6230One of my favorite small additions to an ingredient picture is the vessel it is stored in.  Many of our dry goods are stored in glass mason jars.

Arborio RiceIs there any particular food you like to photograph?  Any particular ingredient?  Any hints you might want to share on food photography?

This entry was posted in Truth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This is Not a Food Blog

  1. janineyork says:

    I loved the broccoli/cauliflower hybrid. It could be decorated and served at Christmas as a side dish, I will add it to my dinner next year somehow. Maybe I will take a photo of that. Great shots! Makes me want to explore new foods and recipes.

  2. explodyfull says:

    I love the Romanesco picture – very nice!

    I love Smitten Kitchen too! (I think anyone who likes food does haha)

  3. The Romanesco is very pretty raw, though it does lose a good deal of it’s color and striking appearance when cooked. It can be served and eaten raw, of course, just like it’s single origing cousins.

Now it's your turn...

